On Sarah Winman’s “When God was a Rabbit.”

IMG_1319.JPG
I think I tried to read this book under the wrong circumstances, or maybe just under too many different circumstances. I started it alone in a cabin after finishing Mockingjay on a camping trip, and finished it alone in a cabin on another camping trip one week later. The middle part, though, was different: I read the bulk of this text in the evenings during the work week. I really think this is a cabin read, or a rainy-day read, or a Sunday afternoon read, or maybe even a winter-break read. What I’m getting at is that I found this book boring, but I don’t actually think that it is. I think it requires a long, slow read. The kind of read that lets you spend time dreaming up a detailed picture of the setting and deliberating over sentences. I didn’t give it that, and that’s my failing.
I’ve noted that it falls into the broad category of “books published in 2011 that take up 9/11.” Also, I think you should take this book with you on your summer break, and read it over a few days when you have zero other commitments.

On Sarah Winman’s “When God was a Rabbit.”

Leave a Reply

